Annual Conference & Trade Show

The 76th Annual Conference & Trade Show is being held at the Erie Bayfront Convention Center on September 9 - 12, 2018. #pmaaconference2018 #VisitErie














2017 Award Winners

William H. Markus Award

PMAA_138The William H. Markus Award is presented in honor of William H. Markus, a gentle man of integrity who was blessed with unlimited energy. For over three decades, he served as counsel for the Pennsylvania Municipal Authorities Association and was truly the Dean and conscience of the association. The William H. Markus award is intended to inspire others to follow his example in instilling honesty, integrity, fairness, efficiency and fiscal responsibility in the operation of Pennsylvania Municipal Authorities. PMAA recognizes those persons who have emulated William H. Markus in the performance of their duties to Pennsylvania’s municipal authorities and to the association. This year's recipient is Edward J. Englehart.

Ed has devoted his entire professional career to serving his community through his authority. Over the years, he has found countless ways to serve PMAA as a member and subcommittee chair of the legislative committee, the conference committee and as assistant director and director of his region. He began his career at the authority as a teenager, rising through the ranks to serve as Executive Director for the last 30 years.

L. W. “Red” Davis AwardPMAA_120

The L.W. “Red” Davis Award is presented annually to an individual for their service to the Pennsylvania Municipal Authorities Association. “Red” served as Executive Manager of the Lansdale Municipal Water Authority and for many years as the Secretary of the Board of Directors of PMAA. This year's recipient is Steven A. Hann, Esq., PMAA Solicitor East. 

Steven Hann is a partner with the Lansdale firm of Hamburg, Rubin, Mulin, Maxwell & Lupin where he is a member of the firm's litigation department and chairs its environmental law department. The firm is the Eastern Region PMAA Solicitor. Hann's practice includes all aspects of municipal authority law including environmental issues affecting municipal authorities, such as air and NPDES permits, TMDLs, wet weather concerns, pretreatment, drinking water requirements and wellhead protection. He also regularly represents clients' interests before environmental agencies such as EPA and DEP and the Environmental Hearing Board. Steve is an adjunct faculty member at Penn Stare Great Valley and an active speaker and writer in areas of environmental law and municipal law. He is vice-chair of the Mid-Atlantic States Section of the Air and Waste Management Association and vice-chair of the Montgomery Bar Association Environmental Law Committee. Steve received his JD in 1989 from Temple University School of Law.

Authority Employee of the Year AwardPMAA_102

Sponsored by ARRO Consulting, Inc., this award acknowledges the selected employee’s service to their authority as well as their contribution to the community.  The “Authority Employee of the Year” was honored at PMAA’s banquet as part of the Annual Conference & Trade Show and will receive a monetary award ($750) to be donated to an institution of higher learning or nonprofit organization chosen by the awardee. This year's recipient is Liesel Gross.

Since January of 2016, Liesel has been the Chief Executive Officer of Lehigh County Authority. She began her serv¬ice to the authority in a public relations-role and became the authority's Customer Care & Communications Manager in 2006. In 2013, following the lease of the Allentown water and sewer systems, she assumed the responsibilities of Chief Administrative Officer. Her responsibil¬ities included management of all human resources, information technology, and customer care activities including metering, billing, and collections activi¬ties. She was also responsible for com¬munications activities of the Authority, including media relations, crisis com¬munications, customer communications, and community outreach. She also played a leadership role in a vari¬ety of cross-organizational programs and teams including emergency response planning, contract negotia¬tions and knowledge management. In her role as Chief Executive Officer, Liesel focuses her attention on provid¬ing board organizational leadership both internally and externally, with a focus on developing collaboration and synergies among operational groups and engaging employees and the public in future decision-making of the authority. Liesel holds a Master's in Public Administration from Kutztown University and has been employed by the Authority since 1998.

Sahli, Extended and J.E. “Ted” Kuhn Service Awards

In an effort to promote interest in good authority administration and operation, and to recognize faithful and effective service by authority officials, PMAA established the annual Sahli Service Award for those who have served 20 years or more, the Extended Service Award for those who have served 30 years or more and the J.E. “Ted” Kuhn Award for those who have served 50 years or more.

Click here to view a list of the recipients.