Recognition and awards are available for members who have served their authority with outstanding service for an extended period of time.

Municipal Authority Community Engagement Award - Submit applications by July 1
Markus Award - Submit applications 90 days prior to the Annual Conference
Sahli and Extended Service Awards - Submit applications by July 31

These prestigious awards are presented during an award ceremony banquet at PMAA’s Annual Conference & Trade Show.


Municipal Authority Community Engagement AwardCommunity_Engagement_Awards
Municipal Authorities are a success story that needs to be told. Each day, authorities implement innovative solutions to meet complex challenges, create opportunities for growth and enhancement, and provide services to meet the basic human needs of Pennsylvania residents.

The Municipal Authority Community Engagement Award is given out annually to PMAA member authorities who are going above and beyond to effectively communicate the value of their authority to the community while providing exceptional service. Formerly known as the Communications Award, PMAA has renamed and redeveloped the award criteria to further exemplify the habit of using good management practices, along with innovative approaches to challenges, to demonstrate a comprehensive approach to community engagement. 

Click here for the guidelines and application.


Sahli Service Award and Extended Service AwardService_Award_Winner_Button
In an effort to promote interest in good authority administration and operation, and to recognize faithful and effective service by authority officials, PMAA established the annual Sahli Service Award for those who have served 20 years or more, and the Extended Service Award for those who have served 30, 40, and 50 years.

Click on award type for criteria and application form.

Sahli Award

Extended Award


Markus AwardMarkus_Award_Winner
William H. Markus was a gentleman of integrity, blessed with unlimited energy. For over three decades he served as counsel for the Pennsylvania Municipal Authorities Association, and was truly the dean and conscience of the association.

The purpose of this award is to:

  • Honor the man who inspired it;

  • To inspire others to follow his example in instilling honesty, integrity, fairness, efficiency and fiscal responsibility in the operation of PMAA;

  • To recognize those persons who have emulated William H. Markus in the performance of their duties to Pennsylvania municipal authorities and to the association.

Nominations for Markus award extended to all members.

Click here for eligibility criteria and application.


L.W. "Red" Davis AwardRed_Davis_Award_Winner_Button
This award is presented annually to an individual for their service to the Pennsylvania Municipal Authorities Association. “Red” served as Executive Manager of the Lansdale Municipal Water Authority and for many years as the Secretary of the Board of Directors of PMAA. This award recipient is chosen by the Associate Member Committee.