The Authorities Future Leaders Scholarship

The purpose of the scholarship is to increase knowledge and awareness of Authority service and the need for qualified employees in the industry. Authority service may include, but is not limited to, public water, wastewater, stormwater, solid waste and recycling, airports, transportation, parking, redevelopment, emergency/medical, recreation, etc. Pennsylvania authorities are established under the Municipality Authorities Act & Related Laws (53 Pa.C.S. Ch.56) or the Parking Authority Law.

One $1,000 scholarship will be awarded this year and will be presented to the recipient at the 2023 PMAA Annual Conference in September.

Eligibility Criteria

  • Applicant must be a student enrolled in high school, a technical school, an undergraduate or graduate college or university, with plans to enter the industry within the next two years,


  • an employee of a PMAA Municipal Authority member pursuing continuing education or credentialing/certification with less than two years of employment in the industry.

  • The scholarship may be used for education-related expenses such as tuition, books, or enrollment/registration fees for professional development or credential coursework.

  • The scholarship may not be used to cover stipends or wages.

  • Recipients must commit to working in the industry for two years following receipt of the scholarship.

Selection Criteria

  • Clarity of goals and objectives outlined via the personal essay

  • Resume showing interest in the field of study

  • Plan for use of scholarship funding

  • Intent to enter and commit to the industry

Application Procedures

  • Application must be submitted with the following:

    • A Personal Essay (to include goals/objectives and how the scholarship will be used to attain future goals),

    • A Resume (to include community involvement), and

    • Two letters of recommendation.

  • Except for the Selection Committee’s information verification process, all information on your application will be handled confidentially by the Selection Committee.